High Peak Declares a Climate Emergency

High Peak Borough Council is the latest in the area to declare a climate emergency It has also committed to becoming carbon neutral by 2030.

The list of Local Authorities in the are who have declared is now:

  • Amber Valley District Council
  • Bolsover District Council
  • Broxtowe Borough Council
  • Chesterfield Borough Council
  • High Peak Borough Council
  • Newark and Sherwood District Council
  • North East Derbyshire District Council
  • Derbyshire Dales District Council
  • Rushcliffe Borough Council
  • Derby City Council
  • Matlock Town Council
  • Wirksworth Town Council
  • Hayfield Parish Council
  • Belper Town Council

Please do let us know if we’ve missed anyone - it’s hard to keep up!


  • Derbyshire County Council has published a Derbyshire Climate and Carbon Reduction Manifesto with the aim of becoming carbon neutral.
  • Nottingham City Council has a Net Zero Carbon target of 2028.